CHTHONIC: ‘Mirror Of Retribution’ Track Listing Revealed – July 21, 2009

Taiwanese metallers CHTHONIC have finalized the track listing for their new album, “Mirror of Retribution”, which will be released in the U.S. on September 1 via Spinefarm Records. It is as follows:


01. Autoscopy
02. Blooming Blades
03. Hearts Condemned
04. Venom in my Veins
05. The Aroused
06. Sing LinngTemple
07. 1947
08. Forty Nine the Urgy Chains
09. Rise of the Shadows
10. Bloody Waves of Sorrow
11. Spell of Setting Sun
12. Unlimited Taiwan

The song “Rise of the Shadows” is available for streaming at the band’s MySpace page.

Formed in 1995, CHTHONIC (a name deriving from a Greek word signifying spirits of the underworld) has delivered an 11-track body of work that touches on both the spirit and mortal worlds, with loss of national identity and the sometimes turbulent history of their homeland recurring themes.

With ANTHRAX guitarist Rob Caggiano at the production and mixing helm, “Mirror Of Retribution” sees the award-winning musicians further developing a style that started with the 1999 album “Where The Ancestors’ Souls Gathered”, blending full-on metal of the darker persuasion with traditional Taiwanese instruments such as two-string violin, the hena.

“The story behind this album combines true historical fact with an ancient myth of hell,” explains bassist and band spokesperson Doris Yeh. “Amongst other things, we make reference to the famous ‘228 Massacre,’ which was the biggest ever massacre in Taiwanese history. Tens of thousands of Taiwanese were killed by the Chinese army. The final battle of the event occurred in the middle of Taiwan, where 40 local militia attempted to resist 2,500 soldiers from the Chinese army. In the end, the militia lost their lives near the Sing-LingTemple.

“Musically, we tried to move the band to a whole new level,” continues Doris. “In the past, we’ve been described in various ways, as ‘symphonic black metal’ or ‘melodic death,’ the word ‘folk’ has also been applied at times, but this was our chance to establish a new place for ourselves in the extreme metal genre.”

Never ones to shy away from a just cause, CHTHONIC — in particular frontman Freddy Lim — have been consistently active on the political front at home, whilst away from their hometown of Taipei they have appeared at the Wacken Open Air festival in Germany and toured as part of the Ozzfest in the U.S., the first Asian extreme metal band to make such a mark.

CHTHONIC (pronounced “Thonic”) is:

Freddy Lim – vocals
Doris Yeh – bass
Jesse Liu – guitar
Dani Wang – drums
CJ – piano/synthesizer

Chthonic/ Mirror of Retribution (FONINT4032 / 602527124032 / C14) Available 9/1/09


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: